Ilona
  • Awaiting References
    References Available
  • DBS Checked
    DBS Checked
  • Bachelors Degree
    PHD
  • 1 Years Experience
    3 Years Experience
Contact me

Send me a short message,
explaining your tuition needs.

Ilona
£45 per hour
(1)
   Harrow

Experienced English and History Tutor

I am currently undertaking a PhD in English Literature at King’s College London. As well as teaching, I also work as a freelance editor and writer.I believe that learning is a highly subjective experience; the best approach to education is, therefore, personalized. In order to achieve high grades students need to feel engaged and confident. In subjects such as English and History the first step to achieving exam success is an understanding of the set texts; something I believe can be gained both through writing and conversation. Tutorial sessions must be tailored for the particular needs of a pupil to help them learn and enjoy the subject—often I find these go hand in hand. For this reason I think it is very important for students to be encouraged to not only focus on the specific exam requirements but also to read widely around their subject; new interests can help a student to gain perspective over exam materials and find new things to say which will be rewarded by their examining body. While each examination board has slightly different requirements, they do require students to make their argument coherently and confidently. Helping a student to realise their own ability is the key task of any tutor: I aim to help my students work towards their exams by teaching them to plan and revise so they are prepared and confident.


Tutoring / Teaching Experience

I have three years of experience tutoring History and English at GCSE and A-Level as well as teaching English as a foreign language to children and business professionals. I also have experience in coaching pupils for university applications, interviews and exams.

Tutoring experience: 3 years


Availability
  • Monday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Tuesday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Wednesday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Thursday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Friday: Morning , Afternoon
  • Saturday: Morning , Afternoon
  • Sunday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening


Reviews and References
5.0 (1 Reviews)
Constantinos (Reference)
Very happy in every respect
SUBJECTS
English

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

English as a Foreign Language

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

History

Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level

11+ Admissions/Eleven Plus

Primary

13+ Admissions/Thirteen Plus

Key Stage 3

Entrance Exams/Common Enterance Admissions

Key Stage 3

QUALIFICATIONS
PHD in English

Kings College London (2018)

Masters in English

University College London (2011)

Bachelors Degree in English (2.1 hons)

University College London (2008)

Politics A-level (A)

The King Alfred School

History A-level (A)

The King Alfred School

English A-level (A)

The King Alfred School

TRAVEL POLICY
I travel up to 10 Miles