Isobel-Humanities PhD, Experienced and Engaging Tutor
  • DBS Checked
    DBS Checked
  • PHD
    PHD
  • 6 Years Experience
    6 Years Experience
Contact Me

Send me a short message,
explaining your tuition needs.

Humanities PhD, Experienced and Engaging Tutor

Isobel
£50 per hour
(1)
    Bermondsey, South East London

I have held full-time appointments at two Russel Group Universities and hold a PhD, MA with Distinction and 1st Class Honours. I have specialist knowledge in history of art and history, and can also teach English literature and language. I have professional experience of university admissions processes, having sat on admission panels, and am also able to offer mentoring and help with academic development more generally for all age groups, including entrance exams

Further to my academic posts I have assisted students aged between eight and eighteen through the charity Action Tutoring and have taught English as a foreign language with the charity DAD International - based in Romania.

I have worked with a range of student abilities and nationalities, and am always determined to increase individual confidence in addition to engaging students with new knowledge and subject understanding. I am patient, approachable and adapt my teaching approach according to a student's personality and interests.




Tutoring / Teaching Experience

I have taught students in group and one-to-one setting, in subjects including history of art, history, cultural theory, English literature and English Language. I have also tutored essay writing and exam revision skills at university level, as well as personal statement writing, CV writing and research skills.

Having worked for two universities I have significant experience as a lecturer, seminar instructor, one-to-one tutor and pastoral tutor, so have wide knowledge of student needs and abilities.

Tutoring experience:6 years



Availability
  • I am flexible


Reviews and References
5.0 (1 Reviews)
Victoria (Reference)
Suitability for tutoring
Reliability
Professionalism
Relationship:
Student
Isobel is a great tutor, she helped me so much during my English and History A levels. Isobel also helped me write my personal statement, and I was successful getting on to the English and History degree I was working towards at Birkbeck College. Isobel was also really helpful in the second year of my degree; she helped me with my essays, and thought me to improve my writing style and overall essay marks. Working with Isobel really improved my confidence, she was very supportive and helped motivate me at difficult times during my studies, and I would definitely recommend her to anyone who needs a tutor.
SUBJECTS

GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

Primary

Key Stage 3

A-level

A-level, Degree

Key Stage 3, A-level, Degree

QUALIFICATIONS
Bachelors Degree in Art History (1st Class Honours)

University of Nottingham (2008)

Masters in Art History (Distinction)

University of Nottingham (2009)

PHD in Art History

University of Nottingham (2014)

TRAVEL POLICY
I travel up to 15 Miles