Lucy-Patient and Understanding English and French Tutor
  • Teach Online
    Teach Online
  • Bachelors Degree
    Bachelors Degree
  • 5 Years Experience
    5 Years Experience
Contact Me

Send me a short message,
explaining your tuition needs.

Patient and Understanding English and French Tutor

Lucy
£20 per hour
(2)
    South Kensington, South West London

I am an experienced French tutor for up to GCSE level, and can teach people of all abilities from beginner upwards. I am extremely patient (a background as a scuba diving instructor helps!) and great at engaging even the least willing student. I love introducing people to the world of languages and helping them see that it’s not all about the grammar! I also have experience teaching EFL to non-English speakers, and am very comfortable taking on students who have little to poor level of English and helping them become confident in navigating their way through the confusing muddle of learning English. I can also tutor English Language/Literature up to AS level, particularly specialising in helping students improve their expression, syntax and general essay writing style – a vital skill for any level English exam. I’m very approachable and a good level of experience in tutoring.


Tutoring / Teaching Experience

I have a year of classroom teaching experience, teaching English in a French school. On top of that I have around 4 years of one to one teaching - I have done English as a foreign language tutoring whilst abroad in Thailand (about once a week), I have also tutored a young French student for her English GCSE, and then her English as a foreign language Baccalaureate exam, and then helped her pass the English tests to be able to get a place at an English university. On top of this I have also tutored a few GCSE French students.

Tutoring experience:5 years



Availability
  • Monday: Evening
  • Tuesday: Evening
  • Wednesday: Evening
  • Thursday: Evening
  • Friday: Evening
  • Saturday: Afternoon
  • Sunday: Afternoon , Evening


Reviews and References
5.0 (2 Reviews)
Maria (Reference)
Suitability for tutoring
Reliability
Professionalism
Relationship:
Student
Lucy tutored me twice a week for almost a year to help with my English. At the beginning I was pretty good, but by the end I now have near native fluency and you can barely even tell I'm German when I speak. Whilst I had no formal exams to revise for, I was looking to get a job which I needed to speak English for and thanks to Lucy's persistance and patience with me, I have finally got a job and my English is great! She is now as much of a friend as she is a tutor and I would highly recommend learning English with her.
Livvy (Reference)
Suitability for tutoring
Reliability
Professionalism
Relationship:
Student
An excellent all round tutor - extremely patient with me even when I was getting very frustrated with myself. She is very professional, approachable and knowledgable and makes language learning a lot easier than any tutor I've had before. She successfully helped me pass my French exams which I never thought I was going to do! I highly recommend her to anyone looking to improve their language skills.
SUBJECTS

Primary, GCSE , Adult

Primary, Key Stage 3, Adult

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level, Adult

QUALIFICATIONS
Bachelors Degree in French (2:1)

University of Leeds (2016)

German As-level (B)

Downside School

Latin A-level (B)

Downside School

French A-level (B)

Downside School

English A-level (A)

Downside School

TRAVEL POLICY
I travel up to 5 Miles
I teach online