Ruka-Dedicated Maths Tutor with a PhD in Process Engineering
  • Teach Online
    Teach Online
  • DBS Checked
    DBS Checked
  • PHD
    PHD
  • 5 Years Experience
    5 Years Experience
Contact Me

Send me a short message,
explaining your tuition needs.

Dedicated Maths Tutor with a PhD in Process Engineering

Ruka
£40 per hour
(1)
    Thamesmead, South East London

I am a passionate and enthusiastic Tutor with a Masters in Chemical Engineering and a PhD in Process Engineering Design. I am currently working as a Senior Engineer for a top international Engineering contractor/consultancy firms.

I have over two years tutoring experience, tutoring mainly GCSE and AS-Level maths. I also have lecturing experience teaching Fluid Mechanics at University to first year undergraduates. The most rewarding part of my experience to date is helping students become more confident in their abilities to recognise, clarify and solve maths related problems

I appreciate that maths can be a stressful subject for students as it requires precision and a level of problem solving activities quite different to other disciplines. A tiny error in one step of solving a maths problem can lead to a completely incorrect result. My focus is on helping students with not only their immediate learning needs but also to build a foundation for future learning, by teaching students how to learn maths and how to think mathematically.

I strongly believe that I can meet the learning needs of my students if I am aware of their learning style and the gaps in their comprehension of the subject. Hence, I often start by understanding student’s approach towards solving problems. I make sure that I reinforce any correct procedures, before then identifying incorrect methods and asking


Tutoring / Teaching Experience

I have over 2 years experience as a part time Tutor, tutoring maths GCSE and A-Levels. I also have a few years experience working as a Lecturer Assistance teaching Fluid Mechanics to first year Engineering students at University.

Tutoring experience:5 years



Availability
  • Monday: Evening
  • Tuesday: Evening
  • Wednesday: Evening
  • Thursday: Evening
  • Friday: Evening
  • Saturday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Sunday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening


Reviews and References
5.0 (1 Reviews)
Kelvin (Reference)
Suitability for tutoring
Reliability
Professionalism
Relationship:
Student's parent
Ruka was a private maths tutor for my child and I was very impressed with her approach and conduct. Ruka was able to work with my child by forming an effective teacher and pupil bond which means my child felt free to ask any questions they had. I have every confidence in Ruka's tutoring abilities as she is also accomplished academically.
SUBJECTS

Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level

QUALIFICATIONS
PHD in Process Engineering Design (N/A)

University of Salford (2015)

Masters in Chemical Engineer (2.1)

Loughborough University (2010)

TRAVEL POLICY
I travel up to 10 Miles
I teach online