Thomas-Enthusiastic tutor specializing in English and Maths
  • Teach Online
    Teach Online
  • Masters Degree
    Masters Degree
  • 2 Years Experience
    2 Years Experience
Contact Me

Send me a short message,
explaining your tuition needs.

Enthusiastic tutor specializing in English and Maths

Thomas
£30 per hour
(1)
    Nine Elms, South West London

Hello,

I love teaching, and take it very seriously. There's nothing better than watching a student make progress and reach their potential.
I just moved to London to do a law degree. I have an undergraduate BA in English from Oxford University, and an MA in Economics from the University of Tokyo, with two years tutoring experience mostly for students applying to universities in the US and the UK, but like working with all age groups.
I mainly teach English and Maths, but have also taught economics for students doing A-level or equivalents in that subject. I also have about 5 years of debate coaching experience.


Tutoring / Teaching Experience

I've tutored English and Maths for university applicants, as well as younger students, for two years, with excellent results. I especially pride myself on my English teaching strategies!
For past students taking the SAT, for example (US university entrance exams), after a complete set of sessions almost all have scored in the top 10% of those taking the exams. My A-levels students also have had excellent results, gaining A or A* grades in the subjects I teach.

Tutoring experience:2 years



Availability
  • Monday: Evening
  • Tuesday: Evening
  • Wednesday: Evening
  • Thursday: Evening
  • Friday: Evening
  • Saturday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening
  • Sunday: Morning , Afternoon , Evening


Reviews and References
5.0 (1 Reviews)
Leslie (Reference)
Suitability for tutoring
Reliability
Professionalism
Relationship:
Student's parent
My daughter decided to apply to University of California at Berkeley and we hired Thomas to work with her. Thomas was great! He understood how to explain concepts in ways that were clear and allowed her to then go more deeply into her learning. His method was very socratic. He was also very personable, never condescending. My daughter did get accepted.
SUBJECTS

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE

Primary, Key Stage 3, GCSE , A-level, Degree, Adult

QUALIFICATIONS
Masters in Economics (1:1)

Tokyo University (2015)

Bachelors Degree in English (2:1)

Oxford University (2012)

TRAVEL POLICY
I travel up to 5 Miles
I teach online